LOS CERROS DE SAN JUAN IS THE OLDEST WINERY IN URUGUAY
In 1854 the Lahusen family, coming from Germany with a long agricultural and viticultural tradition, acquired four estates among San Juan and La Plata rivers, giving rise to the Los Cerros de San Juan and Cochicó Rural Company.
The unique characteristics of the land and the rocky and graveled San Juan River bed were the main reasons for choosing this place, which, in a way, shares features with the prestigious French region of Bordeaux. Without doubt, they decided to implant the noble grape varieties they had brought from Europe in this promising land.
In 1872, they also imported French oak barrels which were housed in a new stone-built cellar where our wines rest to this day.
DECLARED HISTORICAL MONUMENT AND HERITAGE OF THE NATION
The entire infrastructure of the winery and the complementary services for production make up a special agricultural-architectural complex.
The original cellar for the production and aging of the wine- today known as Bodega de Piedra- the old general store, the carpentry and blacksmith works, mostly built in the second half of the 19th century, they all show constructions made of stone, with wide and thick walls of colonial style typical of the region.
In 2014 -on the 160th anniversary of the company- we started to participate in the best international wine competitions, in which since then we have obtained great results that ratify our commitment to tradition and quality.